University of Calgary
UofC Navigation



Kevin Hildebrand, MD, FRCSC
Chief, Section of Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic Surgery is a Section within the Department of Surgery of Alberta Health Services – Calgary Zone and a Division within the Department of Surgery of the Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary.

Orthopaedic Surgery is delivered at all 5 Hospitals in the Calgary Zone. There are over 65 surgeons practicing at these hospitals. In addition to clinical services, Orthopaedic Surgery has an education mandate training residents, medical students and fellows in musculoskeletal medicine.

Another important pillar is research. These research activities include laboratory, clinical, and health service delivery/policy. Our partners in these activities include the Alberta Bone and Joint Health Institute, McCaig Institute for Bone and Joint Health, and the Bone and Joint Health Strategic Clinical Network. Members of Orthopaedic Surgery provide key leadership roles for Alberta Health Services, the University of Calgary, the Bone and Joint Health Strategic Clinical Network, and Regional, Provincial, and National Medical Associations and Professional Societies.

Through these endeavors, Orthopaedic Surgeons make important contributions to Calgarians and Albertans.

Contact Us

General questions or inquiries:

Telephone: 403.220.4554
Fax: 403.220.1185